Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Nucleus review  (Read 1505 times)
rork
« on: February 12, 2011, 02:15:09 pm »

'Nucleus CMS is the software package that I use to publish this weblog. It's written in PHP and uses MySQL for storage.  I've been using it for a couple of months now so it's time to do a write up of how it performs. I use it as a simple blogging tool (which is what it's intended to be) without reader accounts and will review it as this.

I installed version 3.51 and upgraded to v3.62 so I will both review the installation and upgrade process. Besides that I will of course talk about the basic features, how it is in daily (well weekly) use and it's plugin and customization system.

Installation
Installation of Nucleus CMS 3.62 is a blast! Download and unzip the package, upload the contents and go to http://www.yoursite.com/install.php to install. This will show a page with a little bit of information on the installation, your php an mysql version and a couple of forms to fill in database, url/directory, weblog and admin account details. There's an option to set a table prefix so you can install multiple installations of Nucleus CMS in one database. The urls/directories are allready filled in and you only have to check whether they are right.

There's also an option to install the NP_Ping plugin but no description or link to find out what it does. I couldn't (easily) find this information on the Nucleus Site/Wiki or google so I installed it to check it out. Apparently it "can be used to ping many blog tracking services." In the plugin options page it shows 7 sites and the option to automatically notify these sites when you post/update an item (I guess). Three of these sites have "Doesn't work" with one or more question marks behind it.